Scene Versions

Updating a Scene

The Cloud will remember the most recent version published as well as the version prior with an option to activate either. This provides a failsafe. In the event that you update the Scene and that update causes a problem, or if the client doesn’t like it, it can easily be reverted back to the prior version. At this point you’ve only published the original version, so this isn’t applicable at this time. To see how this works, imagine that the client has listened to the project in their Space and wants you to modify the positioning of the Dog and Bird Object.

While you can work directly off the copy of the Scene that’s already loaded locally on your computer, another option would be to download the project from the cloud via the Scene Manager. This ensures thatyou are working on the version of the project that the client is referencing.

  1. In the Scene Manager, click the download button next to the Dog and Bird Scene.

    8.13.png

  2. Choose the directory where you want to download the Spatial project and click Download.

    8.14.1.png

    Once the project downloads, you can directly open it.

  3. Click the Open in Studio button.

    8.14.2.png

    Now you see a version of the project that you know is based on what the client was referencing. Now you’ll go back to the At the Beach project you were working with and change the position of the Chirping Birds Object so that it plays from the rear of the Space.

  4. In the project, change the position of the Chirping Birds Object so that it’s further back in Space.

    8.15.png

    Now you can publish the updated Scene.

  5. In the main menu choose Scene > Publish Scene.

    8.16.png

    You see the Publish Scene window which now says “Publish Version”.

    A message appears indicating that the Scene has been published successfully.
  6. Click OK.

    8.17.png

    Now verify in the Scene Manager that your updated version of the Scene is present.

  7. In the Scene Manager go to the Dog and Bird Scene and click the pencil to edit.

    8.18.png

    Notice the versioning and that you can choose to re-activate the previous version.

    The Cloud will remember the most recent version published as well as the version prior with an option to activate either. This provides a failsafe. In the event that you update the Scene and that update causes a problem, or if the client doesn’t like it, it can easily be reverted back to the prior version.

    TIP: In some cases you may want to provide the client with two versions of the Scene that they choose between. In this situation you can choose to publish the Scene as a completely new Scene and when doing so, give the name of the new Scene a different name for the client to reference. Change the name of the Scene.

 

Congratulations! You have reached the end of the Studio 101 course.

 

Previous

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful